Skip to toolbar

Housing Situations

Before contacting us about housing opportunities, learn about expectations for Higher Ground residents! If you think you would like to become a Higher Ground resident, send us a short bio introducing yourself.

Listings below may have particular requirements, but generally we encourage these three steps to apply:

1. Read these web site pages:

Are We a Match?

Vision Statement

Home

2. Schedule and make two visits. One to tour the house and community, and another to see what community life is like at a potluck, garden work day, or board meeting.

3. Review our Governing Docs (CC&Rs, Bylaws, etc.) and request a rental application if needed.


As of January 23, 2020, there are two housing situations below. Contact the owners directly.



Room plus private bathroom in Bend Co-housing Community- $750+ utilities

I am renting a downstairs 10X10 room including private bathroom and additional hallway closet in my 1422 sq. ft., 3 bed/2 bath home.

Shared spaces:  Kitchen with cupboards/shelving, living room, washer/dryer and 2 outdoor patio areas.  There is limited shelving space in garage to store personal items.  Parking for one vehicle available in front of house.  Shared community spaces: hot tub, sauna, garden, guest room (not during COVID), green spaces (meadows, pond, forested nooks and crannies) and the Common House (not available during COVID).

Month to month lease and reference checks. $750/month plus shared utilities of water, gas, electricity, and internet. Utilities vary between $90-150/month per person. Flexible move in date (prefer February 1st-15th move in date). $750 security deposit required upon lease signing, then first month’s rent due upon move in.

I am looking to share my home with a person who is quiet, honest, respectful, clean, kind, generous, conscientious and aware of their surroundings, fun, playful, peaceful, employed outside of the home, mature, open and receptive to communicating compassionately to have concerns/needs heard and met.  I consider myself to offer the same in my lifestyle and practice.  Community engagement is encouraged.  Limited alcohol consumption preferred and no smoking or drug use in and around house.  Unfortunately, this is not a match for couples, children or pets at this time.

I have worked in natural resources with the Forest Service/Park Service for the last 20 years.  I am transitioning to a career in service to elders, youth or those with disabilities at some point in the near future.  I try to spend 1-4 months in the winter/spring at San Francisco Zen Center (prior to COVID).  My home is sanctuary.  I am a Zen student and cherish a quiet and calm space.  If I am not out enjoying nature or gardening than I am generally enjoying a quiet home, cooking, or studying.    I have 2 cuddly, active and fun cats, Mukti 18 months and Maya 16 months.

Email me with information about yourself and why this living situation would work well for you.  I will be in touch to begin a dialogue if it feels like a suitable match.

Thanks for your thoughtfulness in advance,

 Ida

Idayvonne30@gmail.com

House for Sale

2,300 sq ft strawbale construction, $580,000. 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathroom house next to the HG pond with xeriscaping. Custom built home with passive solar design, radiant floor heating with solar assist, high insulation value. Open floor space, stained concrete floors, and countertops recently upgraded. Beautiful setting on a prime Higher Ground lot overlooking the pond and community meadow. A little piece of magic! For sale by owner so contact Ron.

Here’s a gallery of house photos.